Project Orange, Day Zero

Okay. Time to get serious.

I’ve been putting this little project off since October 2015. Wow. Has it been that long? Time sure does fly fast… So fast it’s creeping me out…

I’m going off topic. Might as well tell you some back story.

STORY TIME!

In mid-August, on the comfort of my sofa, I enjoyed the rainy weather with a little Youtube binge watching. I clicked on a song called Ma Belle, Evangeline.

You know that feeling when you find an old notebook from your teenage douchey years, reading teenage stuff and cringing but at the same time, you’re also laughing and trying not to cry because you’re so happy?

That was exactly how I felt when I clicked on that video. Nostalgia.

I had listened to the song a while back and completely forgot about it. Despite being so in love with the song, I never really got the chance to appreciate it even more.

Discovering the song again made me so happy, that I decided to form a band.

Yup. A band.

Well, not really a band. I just called my friends and said, “Hey do you want to go out and sing some songs together?”

It was weird, yes. But when you’re in the state of head over heels, anything is possible.

Somewhere along the time of planning the get-together, we decided to have it recorded so we could post it on Youtube. That means forming a band-kind-of, trio something of a group. I don’t even know what we’re called. Haha!

IMG-20150827-WA0035
Taken by my lovely friend, Amira

And so we went off to a secluded beach. We were greeted with the most amazing sights. The emerald-coloured sea water compliments the clear azure sky. The waves gently lapping on the shore, producing the most heavenly sounds. How great is God’s gift to us.

We recorded a few songs. Had some goofy moments where our slippers were almost washed out to the sea. Forgetting lyrics and out-of-tune ukulele playing. I’m not a musician okay, nor was I planning to be.

Thus born-eth the group(/solo/trio I don’t actually know the status, okay?) The Azurites.

Here’s the video, kindly watch it puh-lease 🙂

A few months later, November to be exact, I asked my bandmate (I JUST SAID BANDMATE HAHAHA IT’S JUST SO WEIRD) to write an original song so I could make a lyric video for our channel.

Now, it’s January of 2016. Do you see how badass my procrastination skills is?

So, to help me finish what I’ve started, I’m going to document this itsy bitsy project, so I’m more conscious of where the hell I’m going or if I’m even moving at all.

I’m planning to make a 2D animation using After Effects. This is my first animation. I have no prior experience at all with Ae.

Let’s just pray I don’t fuck things up. Or not suck too bad. Or take another 5 months to get it done.

Bear with me people.

#project1/20MotionGraphics

Leave a Reply

