Quote Note #2

andrew stanton quote

I have always loved TED talks. Only last year was I able to break through my ignorance and actually appreciate the amount of knowledge I could devour in all of those videos.

Sometimes, during my daily daydreaming session, I would imagine myself on the stage speaking to thousands of people. They laugh as I make a joke, they cry as I share a sad memory, they listen intently when I raise my voice to stress an idea.

I’m far away from ever reaching that stage, so for now, I settle with watching all these inspiring talks.

One of my favourites is Andrew Stanton’s Clues To A Great Story. Andrew Stanton is a filmmaker, responsible for Toy Story and WALL-E. In his talk, he shares his thoughts about storytelling.

Here is an excerpt of the talk:

When I was four years old, I have a vivid memory of finding two pinpoint scars on my ankle and asking my dad what they were. He said I had a matching pair like that on my head but I couldn’t see them because of my hair. And he explained that when I was born, I was born premature, that I came out too early, and I wasn’t fully baked; I was very very sick.

When the doctor took a look at this yellow kid with black teeth, he looked straight at my mom and said, “He’s not going to live.”

I was in the hospital for months. And many blood transfusions later, I lived, and that made me special.

I don’t know if I really believed that. I don’t know if my parents believe that, but I didn’t want to prove them wrong. Whatever I ended up being good at, I would strive to be worthy of the second chance I was given.

Lesson learned. Don’t take life for granted. Do things that make you happy and do it damn well.

Leave a Reply

